Skip to main content

Education Final 09-15-11 -   2.5.c - Graduation Rates for Pell Recipients

Go Search
Education Final 09-15-11
1. Access and Enrollment
2. Student Accomplishment
3. Student and Economic Outcomes
Action Plan
2.5.c - Graduation Rates for Pell Recipients
How does the graduation rate for Pell Grant recipients compare with non-recipients?
Progress icon Operation in progress...
Data Notes
Data Source: Higher Education Coordinating Board from data submitted by Washington's public 4-year institutions.
Measure Definition: Percentage of students who enroll as first-time full-time freshmen in the fall who graduate within six years from the same institution.
Link to Agency Strategic Plan: Improve student retention and completion to meet degree production targets.
Notes: "2004 Cohort" means first-time, full-time freshmen in fall 2004.  Totals do not include UW and WSU branch campuses since they did not admit freshman students in 2004.
Also Available
Action Plan: See Fund for Innovation action item under measure 1.2.

 Drill Down Measures

 Summary Analysis

  • The chart shows the percentage of first-time full-time freshmen at Washington public 4-year institutions (not including UW and WSU branch campuses) that graduated in 2009 and 2010 within six years.  The bars show six-year graduation rates for Pell Grant recipients (needs-based financial aid) and non-recipients.
  • The graduation rate for non-Pell recipients remained at 70%, while the graduation rate for Pell recipients improved slightly between 2009 and 2010.  The Pell recipient graduation rate showed greater improvement in 2010, which decreased the difference between the two groups from 5.3 to 3.7 percentage points.
  • Pell Grant eligibility is determined by the U.S. Department of Education using a formula that calculates financial need by subtracting the difference between the cost of attendance and the expected family contribution.  Generally, Pell Grants are awarded to students with exceptional financial need who have not earned a bachelor's or graduate degree.  The current annual award limit is $5,550.